Logo 
Search:

Java Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Java       RSS Feeds

Serializing Dates

  Asked By: Madison    Date: Mar 10    Category: Java    Views: 834
  

I have been having an issue with some of the code I am working with. We have
a client/server app where we serialize objects across the network. The
problem that I am having is that the system is doing ugly things to Date
objects that are serialized to a machine in a different time zone. For
example, if I serialize a Date object for "01/01/2004 00:00 EST" to the
server in AZ it comes across as either "12/31/2004 21:00 PST" or "12/31/2004
22:00 MST" depending on the time of year. Since the server is in AZ (where
we don't do daylight savings time) I can't rely on the offset being any
constant value... I know that the long term fix would probably be to change
all dates to Calendar objects, but that is a huge task that I just don't have
time to do right now... Any other suggestions?

Share: 

 

No Answers Found. Be the First, To Post Answer.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Serializing Dates Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: